Tags

, , ,

A DEJECTION INJECTION  

I like being liked. I love being loved. I hate being hated. I wish I could reject rejection, but I don’t seem to be able to do that and thus I experience a dejection injection in my heart.

Sometimes people react hatefully simply because I exist, or so it seems to me.  Maybe they are having a bad day and I happened to get in their way.  Some people just don’t like me, I suppose.  Although, I know me better than they do and I still like me most of the time. Sometimes it is due to a misunderstanding.  Sometimes it is due to bigotry and prejudice.  Sometimes people don’t think like I do – most people don’t, but some seem to be able to deal with it. Some even like my sense of humor and the way I think.

Understanding why I have been rejected helps somewhat.  It helps a lot actually. I can then see the rejecter’s perspective.

Some people hate Christians, thus some people hate me because of it.  Jesus lets me know in this passage that this is to be expected and is nothing new.  I still hate being hated though.  However, I cannot stop being Christian simply because someone hates me for it.

Such hateful attitudes have never morphed into martyrdom for me, but I have experienced passive aggressive persecution, aggressive persecution and downright meanness.

If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before it hated you. If ye were of the world, the world would love his own: but because ye are not of the world, but I have chosen you out of the world, therefore the world hateth you.” John 15:18-19.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

