Tags

Has It Come To This?

Human nature is a frustrating thing.  At least I get frustrated with it.  I don’t think of spiritual things as soon as I should.  Take prayer for instance.  I forget to pray.  Oh, I remember when habit dictates it. But when trouble comes, I fuss, I try to fix it, I complain, I may even seek counsel. Eventually, I give up and pray.

At these times I have things backwards. Prayer becomes a last resort, as if something horrible has happened.  “Has it come to this? Wow!”

God says a lot about prayer in the Bible, but this verse seems the most all-encompassing. “Pray without ceasing.”  To me this means that I am in a constant state of conversation with God.  He is with me no matter where I go or what I do.  Since He is with me, I can ask His advice at the first inkling of stress.  I can trust in His guidance, even if it is contrary to my feeble thinking.

I just need to remember to be a prayer praying prayers.

“Pray without ceasing.” I Thessalonians 5:17.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

