Tags

, ,

The Undercover Kitty

 We had a black cat years ago that had a skill that no other cat was ever able to pull off.

While my wife and would settle in under our covers and waiting for sleep to take over, Ebony would go to work.  She wanted to be under the covers between the two of us, but was not allowed this luxury. She knew that being discovered would mean being evicted rudely and abruptly into the cool of the night. In order to accomplish this, she had to work her way around or over one of our heads.  She had to step so gingerly on the pillow that she would not be discovered.  About the time, we were falling asleep, we would suddenly feel her down by our calves.  She had done it again!  She was incredibly sneaky.

The old devil is just as sneaky.  As with Ebony, I don’t even realize he is at work.  Then I suddenly realize he is right in the midst of things.  I have to kick him out rudely and abruptly.  Many times I have to take this issue to God.  I don’t have the power to evict him.

I know if I don’t notice him, he is still at work.  I need to protect myself and my mind by staying close to God.

“But I fear, lest by any means, as the serpent beguiled Eve through his subtilty, so your minds should be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ.” II Corinthians 11:3.

 © copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

