Tags

, , ,

A Cynic Sees

“I don’t know why I am doing this.  I get so weary of people with their cures and treatments.  What makes this different? I guess I have grown rather cynical. Yet, here I am making my way through town with mud packs on my eyes to the pool of Siloam.” I imagine the blind man thinking. “Here I am. Ok, I’ll wash. It’ll at least be a relief to get the dried mud off my face. Besides, I have nothing better to do.”

“What is that? Ouch!” He squints in the bright desert sun. Eventually, things come into focus. “I can see! I never knew how bright the light can be!” He spent some time looking about in wonder. As he walked home he associated sights with the sounds and smells he knew so well.

Jesus healed this man, not because of the man’s faith, but because the purpose of the blind man’s blindness was for Jesus to heal Him as well as get the man’s attention. He had to shatter the man’s cynicism.

The first time I met Jesus, I didn’t believe.  It wasn’t until He got my attention through circumstances, did I begin to think about Him. It wasn’t until He destroyed my cynicism that I came to see Jesus as the Son of God.

“…He went his way therefore, and washed, and came seeing.” John 9:7b.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

