As the blind man returns home, he comes across people that he knew.  They still talked as if he wasn’t there.

“Isn’t that the guy that sat and begged?”

“It sure looks like him.”

He stopped walking and said, “Yeah, it’s me.” But instead of rejoicing with him, they fussed at him and took him to the Pharisees and they interrogated him.  They demanded to know where Jesus was. Someone got his parents and put them on the spot.  They said, “Ask him.”

Instead of rejoicing with him, they made an issue out of him being healed on the Sabbath day – the day of rest. They felt it wasn’t supposed to be done that way. They gave him a rough time and kicked him out of the synagogue.

I imagine him dusting himself off and thinking. “Unbelievable! Why can’t they rejoice with me!”

I don’t know how many times I have heard people say things like, “It must be nice.” One pastor I knew would reply to that by saying, “When God blesses, it is nice.”

I have noticed the urge to fuss rise up in me, too.  I think things like, “That’s not the way it’s supposed to be done.” Or “It must be nice.  Why doesn’t got change my circumstances?” I am learning to stifle those feelings and rejoice with the people God has blessed.

“The neighbours therefore, and they which before had seen him that he was blind, said, ‘Is not this he that sat and begged?’ …They answered and said unto him, ‘Thou wast altogether born in sins, and dost thou teach us?’ And they cast him out.” John 9:8-34.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

