Tags

, ,

rest3

Sometimes I get weary of life.  I just want someone to stop this ride and let me off.  On bad days (like   yesterday), the fatigue, stiffness and pain of Parkinson’s gets wearisome. At times, I get tired of the struggle of life itself. This ol’ flesh wants to sin. My attitude turns sour. I need to be reminded that Jesus is there to help.  I simply need to yoke up with Him and He will pull with me.  He doesn’t take the burden away. Instead, He helps me with it.

Why didn’t Jesus respect the Sabbath?  He often did something on the Sabbath that offended the Jews.  The Sabbath, the last day of the week, was the day of rest. It was also the day of worship.  The answer is that Jesus fulfilled the Old Testament, which was filled with pictures of Him. “Think not that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets: I am not come to destroy, but to fulfil.” Matthew 5:17.

The Sabbath pictured Jesus as the rest for mankind.  He is our rest. “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.” Matthew 11:28-29.

The blind man that Jesus had just healed ended up defending himself when his neighbors took him to the Pharisees.  Instead of rejoicing with him, they were offended that Jesus healed him on the Sabbath, the day of rest.  They didn’t understand that Jesus was making the point that He was the “rest” of the story.

 “And it was the sabbath day when Jesus made the clay, and opened his eyes.” John 9:14.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

