I remember a math teacher that loved to belittle the kids that didn’t “get it.”  I, being one of those kids, considered delinquent behavior as a substitution to class attendance.  But, I knew it would catch up with me, so I attended class.  I tried my best to be invisible, but she would have none of it.

On one memorable occasion, she asked me for the answer to a problem, and when I gave her my answer, she said, “You’re kidding me, right?”  She carried on for a long time, perhaps an entire minute or longer.  It seemed like half the class.  After she settled down, she had me come up to the board and we worked on the problem “together.”  I just wasn’t getting it, so she went through how to do it three or four different ways.  At the close of her “lesson,” she asked me, “Do you see now?”  I don’t remember if I did or not.

Jesus came across the former blind man, who had been evicted from the presence of the Pharisees and began speaking to him.  Jesus had healed him and allowed him to go through a difficult reception from the townsfolk. He had healed the blind man without any indication of faith on the man’s part.  Now, after he had time to think about things and after hearing things like, “If this man were not of God, He could do nothing,” Jesus asked him if he believed in the Son of God.  Jesus admitted to Him that He was, in fact, the Son of God.  Then and there the blind man believed – in other words, He got saved.  He saw not only physically, but spiritually, as well.

God worked circumstances in my life, so that I would become receptive to His invitation to trust Jesus as my Savior.  I saw it – I understood and like the blind man, I got saved.

 “Jesus heard that they had cast him out; and when he had found him, he said unto him, Dost thou believe on the Son of God? He answered and said, Who is he, Lord, that I might believe on him? And Jesus said unto him, Thou hast both seen him, and it is he that talketh with thee. And he said, Lord, I believe. And he worshipped him.” John  9:35-38.

 © copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

