Tags

,

choice

“Your logic is flawed.” I told my co-worker when he supposed his opinion trumped the Bible.

“Logic cannot be flawed or it wouldn’t be logic.” He countered.

“Logic based on nothing more than opinion is flawed at the onset. Anything following that is therefore flawed, as well.”

Our banter continued for some time on this topic while we worked. Eventually, he came to realize that yes, that logic can be flawed. Basically, he had his feet firmly planted in the air.

My opinion doesn’t matter either. It’s simply an opinion. When confronted with the facts, I have a choice.  Reject the truth or repent and accept it. My pride does not like to admit I was wrong. My pride can keep me from making the smart choice. It seems I would rather look stupid than guilty. But by admitting my sin to Jesus, I can be forgiven – the smart decision in the long run. The choice is mine.

The Pharisees looked at Jesus with mouths open in astonishment and said, “Are we blind also?” They felt they were the enlightened ones. Jesus had used the blind man’s healing as an object lesson. It proved His point and they felt Jesus was being judgmental. But then when confronted with sin, the usual response is, “Don’t judge.” The illustration did the condemning, even though they reacted wrongly. Jesus left them with a choice – repent of your sins or reject me.

“And Jesus said, For judgment I am come into this world, that they which see not might see; and that they which see might be made blind. And some of the Pharisees which were with him heard these words, and said unto him, Are we blind also? Jesus said unto them, If ye were blind, ye should have no sin: but now ye say, We see; therefore your sin remaineth.” John 9:39-41.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

