pickup2

“What happened to the shop truck?” The assistant manager asked an employee as he drove into the auto body repair shop where I worked.

“I kinda went over the concrete thing in a parking lot.” My coworker said nonchalantly.

“How fast were you going? I mean look at this?  Look at the bumper, the wheels are bent, the tires cut and the suspension is messed up! Look at this – old pan is even caved in and leaking!” He yelled as he looked under the pickup.

“Whatever.”

“You don’t care?”

“Why should I? It ain’t mine.” And he walked off, leaving the assistant manager red faced and angry.

I don’t know if the boss took the cost of repairs out of his paycheck or not.  But I think I would have fired him on the spot.  My parents taught me that I should take extra care of someone else’s stuff.

I am sure glad that Jesus cares. He cares so much that He gave His life on the cross, to give me the opportunity to get saved. There are false religious leaders and cruel people in power over countries, that don’t care about people.  They care about their riches, their power, their fame, but would abandon their followers in a heartbeat.

I praise God that Jesus is the Good Shepherd!

 “I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep. But he that is an hireling, and not the shepherd, whose own the sheep are not, seeth the wolf coming, and leaveth the sheep, and fleeth: and the wolf catcheth them, and scattereth the sheep.” John 10:11-12.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

