Tags

, ,

Devo pic

Whoever came up with the plan that the top two athletes in class would get to choose team members ought to be flogged.  I hated it because no one wanted a red-haired, freckled-faced shrimp on their team.  Some of the athletic types had reached their full size by age twelve.  At barely a hundred pounds, I was no match for these 200+ pound jerks.

I also spent my high school years in bonehead English and knucklehead Math.  Thus, the brainy ones ignored me.  I couldn’t have kept up with them conversationally anyway. I took the vocational classes and did ok – I didn’t burn down the school or lose any fingers. The exclusive clicks of the high school intelligentsia and brutish thick-skulled jocks didn’t take such classes. I was drawn to these classes anyway.

I didn’t realize at the time that everyone has their place. Society needs intelligent people, vocational people and even sports-minded people (not sure that is really necessary – just joking, calm down). It really doesn’t matter what social strata we are in, Jesus will save anyone!

Some Jews had taken issue with Jesus about healing on the Sabbath.  At this point, He informed them that heaven was not an exclusive club just for them.  He would be the shepherd of all that believed in Him, whether Jew or not.  The Gentiles were included!

That means I am not left out. Jesus nixed exclusivity.

 “And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd.” John 10:16.

 © copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

