cell pones

Concerned or Callous

 Back in my teenage years, my friends and I were driving to town and came across an accident on the highway. We stopped and walked around the accident scene. The police and paramedics were working to remove people from the smashed cars. They had three or four victims lying on the ground with blankets covering them, as they waited for more ambulances. We just stood around gawking with our brains turned off.

I still hear of heroes saving people, but the news also reports of people that just stood at an accident scene with their cell phones recording the carnage instead of helping. It is the modern equivalent of those that would stop and gawk at accidents without helping. The difference is that now their indifference is now recorded. They don’t so much as react to pleas of help from rescuers and those in danger. They just keep recording. In retrospect, my friends and I weren’t any different even though we didn’t think of ourselves as unconcerned or callous.

Jesus, on the other hand, didn’t just risk His life to save another, He laid it down. In other words, He gave Himself, so that sinners could live. He saw my plight and died for me! He witnessed the need and went into action.  The only way humanity could be saved from death and sin, was for Him to die in mankind’s place.  The work is done! All mankind need to is accept the rescue.

“As the Father knoweth me, even so know I the Father: and I lay down my life for the sheep. And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd. Therefore doth my Father love me, because I lay down my life, that I might take it again. No man taketh it from me, but I lay it down of myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again. This commandment have I received of my Father.” John 10:15-18.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

