Polar Bear

I wonder how many times Jesus tried to get my attention before I finally got saved. I remember a time a friend in vo-tech got saved and invited me to church, but I didn’t go. I remember a near accident that made me think a bit. I remember thinking about my dad passing away when I was seven years old. I remember at the birth of my first child, God speaking to me about Jesus. I remember a couple other people talking with me about getting saved, but I only argued with them. However, these conversations did make me think. I imagine Jesus must have thought I was as dim as the Pharisees He was talking with in today’s passage. I eventually decided to take to heart His message of eternal life and trusted Him as my Savior.

God works differently in the heart of each individual. I wonder, will it take the loss of a loved one? Will it take a loved one to take the step to trust Christ as Savior to motivate? Will it take a near death experience? Will it take someone letting you know they care? Will it take a Gospel tract? Will it take something as silly as a guy with a puppet? Will it take a chronic disease? Will it take extreme conviction of sin while sitting in a jail cell? How exciting to listen to someone relate how God got a hold of his/her heart!

Jesus essentially said to the Pharisees, “I have already told you that I am the Light of the world, the Son of God, the Good Shepherd, that I am come to save, to give eternal life, to give liberty, and to redeem you. I have told you that in order to do this, I must die, and rise again. I told you that I am absolute master of my life – and of my death. Have you not noticed that I know the very secrets of your hearts? Have you not seen the miracles that I did?  And yet ye will not believe!”

“Then came the Jews round about him, and said unto him, How long dost thou make us to doubt? If thou be the Christ, tell us plainly. Jesus answered them, I told you, and ye believed not: the works that I do in my Father’s name, they bear witness of me.” Jn 19:24-25

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

