Prairie dog

I figured something out.  Seriously, I did.  I’m not sure how long it took me because I don’t have the brain cells I once did.  Those were the days of excess stupidaline, which overrode the common sense I should have had. But back to the point, a little light came on one day, illuminating a concept I never noticed prior to that day.

Some people like preaching and some don’t. As I thought on this, I noticed something else.  Christians like preaching, and non-Christians do not. Then I considered another concept.  Some Christians like preaching and some do not.  Why? I took a look at myself and realized that when I didn’t like preaching, I wasn’t right with God.  When I did like preaching, all was well with Him.

When I am right with God, the pastor can step on my toes and I am glad for it.  I know I need reproof, rebuking and exhorting.  I guess I need the longsuffering of my pastor because I can be rather dim.  I need Bible doctrine, not baseless opinions.

As I read this verse, I realized that the preaching is not limited to pastors.  It is meant for all Christians to do.  A Gospel tract left on a restaurant table can do the preaching I couldn’t because the waitress/waiter was busy.  I can use a dummy to help me preach a message, too.  Preaching is the Christian thing to do.

“Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all longsuffering and doctrine.” II Timothy 4:2.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

