giving1

 Have you ever spent a little time thinking on stuff in the Bible?  When I looked at this verse this morning, I did just that. And it was a blessing for me. Here is a brief overview of my study. I hope you find it a blessing, too.

“And” means “in addition to” or “also” – so Jesus is continuing with this thought regarding His sheep. “I” means that He has the power to deliver the gift He is talking about. No one can offer something they don’t possess.  “Give” – He is not selling something, He is not requiring people to earn it.  He is giving a gift. “Unto them” the context shows that the recipients are His sheep (believers). This gift has been given to all that believe in Jesus. Everyone has the choice not to believe. They can reject the gift. “Eternal” means “forever” “never ending” “everlasting”- thus, the death of the body is not the end. “Life” means a good thing.  Believers will live on after their bodies have died. Basically, Jesus is saying, “I give…”

Isn’t it fun to give something to someone that touches his/her heart? Especially, if a sacrifice was involved.  Jesus died on the cross to give us eternal life.  In this passage, the crucifixion hadn’t happened yet, but its effectiveness was still in effect. Jesus’ death paid for all of mankind’s sin from the beginning of the world to the end of time. Imagine the joy giving this gift is for Jesus!

“And I give unto them eternal life…” John 10:28a

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

