Glasses & masking tape

I am a slow learner, but I have come to think that it is wise to never say “never.” Whenever I have said, “never” about doing something, it seems to guarantee that I will do it again. For instance, buying cheap masking tape.  I know that I get what I pay for. If I buy cheap stuff, I get cheap stuff. It will tear lengthwise when I try to apply it. Then, I will spend a lot of time pick, pick, picking the tape off after the job is done or else it comes loose overnight.  Then I will say, “Never again will I buy cheap stuff,” until the next time.  So, I quit saying, “Never” in hopes that I will never do something stupid again.  Hasn’t worked so far – I always get cheap.  When will I learn?

I did find an instance where “never” means never.  When Jesus said that His sheep (believers) will never perish.  That means it can’t happen, God said so.  I can trust it.

“Perish” means “destroy, annihilate, to be wasted or rendered useless, to decay, to be lost eternally.” Thus, those that do not believe in Jesus and choose not to be saved are in a state of wasting away and will be destroyed and lost eternally. God does not want any to perish.  Jesus died on the cross so that all could be saved. He gave mankind the choice. “The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.” II Peter 3:9.

 Never actually means never.  When Jesus saved me, He keeps me saved.  He doesn’t renege on His promise and it doesn’t depend on me!

 “…and they shall never perish…” John 10:28b.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

