Tags

,

Coin in Hand

Try to Pluck the Coin from My Hand

 Many years ago I learned how to pluck a coin from someone else’s hand.  I had fun frustrating coworkers, who would lose their coins.  I would challenge the other person that I could get the coin before he/she could close their hand on the coin.  I would have the coworker hold his/her hand out with palm flat and put the coin in the center.  Then I would pluck it from his/her hand before they could react.  The secret was to quickly, but not too obviously, push his/her hand down, which left the coin airborne, close my hand on it and pull back.  We would open our hands at the same time and the coin would be in my hand – most of the time.

At the time, I could also snatch flies off countertops and sometimes out of the air.  I can’t do that so well anymore.  I don’t think I would be fast enough to pluck a coin from someone’s hand anymore.  Parkinson’s and the years piling up have slowed me down.  Although, I think I could get a coin from Danny’s hand.  He is my ventriloquist’s dummy and his reflexes are slower than mine.  Hmmm, I think I will give that a try.

The interesting thing about today’s passage is that no one can pluck a saved person from Jesus’ hand.  Plus, Jesus says, no one can pluck that person from God’s hand.  Then He explains why – He and God are one.  No man is faster or trickier than God.  Hey! No one can pluck themselves from Jesus’ hand, either.

“…neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand. I and my Father are one.” John 10:28c-30.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

