Tags

Sick Guy

“Would you rather have the fast and furious kind of flu, or the stuff that lingers on, but isn’t all that bad?” someone asked me one day.

“You give me a choice between ‘A’ and ‘B’. I think I will go for ‘D. None of the above.’ I prefer to opt out of both of those choices. I certainly don’t want ‘C. All of the above.’”

Being someone that deals with a chronic illness (Parkinson’s), both choices are most miserable.  I understand that disease is part of the curse imposed by God brought about by the sin of Adam and Eve, but it took many years to understand that God can use illness and disease for His glory.  How He does that is His prerogative. In the passage in which this verse is nestled, God used Lazarus illness to demonstrate the attributes of God through Jesus.

I would prefer to opt out, but I can rest assured that God can use my illnesses to glorify His Son. Sometimes I see it, but most times I do not. I guess I am feeling too miserable to notice. Still, I am glad God doesn’t ask me to choose between “A,” “B,” “C” or “D.”

 “When Jesus heard that, he said, This sickness is not unto death, but for the glory of God, that the Son of God might be glorified thereby.” John 11:4.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

