no bout

Sitting alone in the living room in the middle of the afternoon, while knitting away, my Mom started giggling.  I looked around, but there was nothing going on at all, just the click-click of her knitting. I had to know why she was laughing. I asked. She told me she was laughing at pastor’s joke from the Sunday morning service.  She had been mulling it over and finally got it.

I get rather perturbed when I tell a good joke and the recipient just stares at me blankly.  It loses something if I have to dissect the joke, examine its elements and explain the punch line. Even then some people don’t get it.  Some people have a sense of humor, some have an appreciation for it, and some just don’t understand it.

The reason for illness is that God can use it to glorify Jesus.  The Jews wanted to see a sign from God as verification for Jesus’ claims.  However, even then, they didn’t believe.  Jesus explains in this passage that He will perform a miracle that will leave no doubt that He is God in the flesh.  Jesus told His disciples that He was glad that He was not with Lazarus because they would doubt that Lazarus had died.  Arriving after Lazarus was laid in the tomb would be the ultimate demonstration of His power over death.

 Then said Jesus unto them plainly, Lazarus is dead. And I am glad for your sakes that I was not there, to the intent ye may believe; nevertheless let us go unto him.” John 11:14-15.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

