Tags

, ,

Bug in the Night

I have a creative imagination, howbeit a strange one at times. My imagination has been a blessing at times, but at other times…

When my imagination hung out with my irrational fears as a kid, things got stranger. Bonks in the night became hoodlums lurking about.  Shadows moving in the wind turned into ferocious animals skulking around, waiting for opportunities to pounce.

It was in this state as a kid that I looked out the window in our little family camper one night to see if I could see anything. My heart pounding, I pulled back the curtain and looked out – right into a face looking in! Adrenaline fueled my fears and imagination. Do I wake everybody? If I ran outside, I knew I would run into the clutches of the owner of that frightening face. I decided to stay where I was and let the murderous villain find me – if he dared.

Turned out it was only my dad trying to get the pilot light working on the camper furnace. The access door happened to be outside near my window.

Thus, in all areas that my imagination can distort reality or bring me to the precipice of sin, I need to throw those ideas out and turn to God.

 “Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;” II Corinthians 10:5.

(By the way, the pic is a shadow of a Sphinx moth).

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

