Bad Breath

“When someone offers you a breath mint, take it,” my professor in Bible college told the class. I have always done so since.  I decided I would also offer people breath mints if needed. Besides, it would benefit both of us.  It doesn’t always go well, though.  I offered a breath mint to someone once and he said, “What’s that for? Do you think I have bad breath?”

I was taken aback with his reaction because from then on this person wouldn’t talk to me.  He had become offended with the truth and considered me an enemy. I hadn’t meant the gesture to be insulting.

It’s interesting how the truth affects people.  Some will get mad and some will accept it.  The same goes for Jesus.  Some will get mad and some will accept Him as Savior.

On some issues people will cry, “bigot,” and worse because they don’t like the truth. They resort to bullying to have their way. They choose to make me their enemy. It is said that a man is known by his enemies.  If someone chooses to make me their enemy, then they are helping to define me.

I do not preach the truth to offend, but to help. Even if you choose to make me an enemy, I’ll still stand on the truth.

“Am I therefore become your enemy, because I tell you the truth?” Galatians 4:16.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

