Tags

, ,

You Are Too Late

“You’re too late, we just sold the last one a few minutes ago,” the manager told me.

“I would have been happier if you hadn’t said anything. I’m always a day late and a dollar short.” I grumped.  Then I fussed at myself for using a worn out cliché as I left the store. “Just once I would like to be in the right place at the right time.  Good night, another cliché,” I sighed as the traffic light turned red on me.

Sometimes it seems as if God doesn’t know what He is doing.  He knows my needs and wants as well as the timing for those thing. But, He doesn’t consult my calendar, personal objectives or advice, which messes things up.  And then I fuss.

When I got home, the phone was ringing and the manager let me know that he had found the item I needed and he would give me the item at sale price, as well.  I had to bring the item back for repairs a couple of times. However, the manager give me $50.00 gift certificate as an apology.  In the long run, I got a better deal.  I had wasted a good fuss.

 In today’s passage, Lazarus had been sick but Jesus didn’t come for four days, even though He wasn’t far away.  Jesus didn’t seem to care.  He showed up too late.  Lazarus had died.  Martha couldn’t help but express her hurt and frustration. But she wasted a good fuss.

“Then said Martha unto Jesus, Lord, if thou hadst been here, my brother had not died.” John  11:21.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

