I Am What I Am

I Am What I Am

 “You have been removed from _________________ because you can’t post religious stuff on this Facebook page,” was one message I received this morning. All I had posted there were my pictoons that said nothing more religious than “The EVANtriloquist.” Another page this morning said, “You have been deleted from our membership because you cannot post things that promote you page, product or increase you numbers.” Same posts, too. Usually, they don’t say anything, just dis-member me. One never knows what will offend someone!

I’ve had Christians get mad because I don’t preach hard enough on my devotionals and others that think I am too tough.  I’ve had complaints that I shouldn’t post jokes or write humor, and I have others that get mad that I don’t use enough humor.  Some Christians don’t think I should use ventriloquism for the Lord. I have Christians that don’t think I should promote Parkinson’s Awareness and Parkies that don’t think I should talk about the Lord. Some are outspoken that they don’t like my characters, others love the very same ones. Some Christians get after me for having humor in my books and some for having the Gospel in them.   I like chocolate chip cookies (without nuts) whether you do or not.

By the grace of God I am what I am. I’m not all I should be, but I praise God that I am not what I was. God takes each one of us and uses our personalities for His glory.  Instead of criticizing and finding offence in one another, maybe, just maybe, we could look for what God sees in us and encourage and pray for one another.

That said, I am what I am – a Christian saved by grace. I love humor and writing humor and writing and performing ventriloquism. I am a Baptist (IFB). I use the King James Bible. I will, as kindly and lovingly as I can, deliver the message for people to repent and trust Christ. I will promote Parkinson’s Awareness because of the ignorance out there and because I have it.  In short, I am what I am.

“But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.” I Corinthians 15:10.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

