If God is an all-knowing (omniscient) God, He knows my needs. So, why pray? Pray means to “ask,” but why do I need to ask? What’s the point? God is omniscient. This means He is not absent-minded or forgetful.  He does not have Alzheimer’s disease.  If He did, He would not be omniscient, omnipresent or omnipotent.

God, the Father, wants a relationship with His children – with me!  When I trusted Christ as Savior, I now had a relationship with Him. If He didn’t have me pray, I would forget about Him. I know I take Him for granted too much already.

Prayer also helps us keep our attitudes right toward our enemies.  We are to pray FOR them.  Prayer reminds me that He loves me and wants to answer my prayers. (1 Peter 5:7  Casting all your care upon him; for He careth for you).

I visited a friend one time whose family is very religious.  He asked me to pray for the meal.  I spoke to God as I would a Father in common everyday language.  He followed with a repetitious prayer in Latin. As I searched the Bible, I never found that God is more impressed with one language over another or in repetition.

He does, however, want me to be in constant communication with Him. This shows me that I don’t have to have my eyes closed, hands folded and speak in King James English to get His attention.  He wants a relationship with me.  He wants me to talk to Him about everything.  Pretty cool, methinks.

“Pray without ceasing.” I Thessalonians 5:17.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

