Tags

, , , ,

why bother1

 I have noticed that not everybody likes me or what I do.  Some openly criticize, some just quit talking to me, and some are friendly, but not supportive.  When I look to people for my happiness or approval, I find myself getting discouraged. When I seek acceptance in groups, clubs or organizations, I find myself feeling hurt. When I look to people for self-gratification, I find they will let me down. I find myself wanting to quit.  Why bother? Nobody cares anyway.

But when I look to God for my happiness and approval, I find it frees me to be a minister because my needs are already met. I become usable to God to help others. When I allow God to use me, then I feel good about myself, too. It’s not about me.  It’s about being a usable vessel. Why bother? Because God has a purpose for me today.

When everything is about me, I am miserable.  When I think I am self-sufficient and don’t need God, then I end up feeling sorry for myself.  My sufficiency is of God, not self.  This sinful self only messes things up.  This sinful self wants its selfish desires met, but when I meet the needs of others, then I find I am satisfied. Why bother? Because others need God.

When I look to God for my happiness and approval, I am freed to be a usable vessel.

“Not that we are sufficient of ourselves to think any thing as of ourselves; but our sufficiency is of God” II Corinthians 3:5.

 © copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

