Tags

, , ,

hat

 While attending vo-tech in Springfield, SD I came upon a scene.  Damon, who preferred being called Demon, because he thought he was the toughest thing to ever come to town, was drunk and looking for a fight.  A cowboy came along and Damon grabbed his hat and refused to give it back.  It didn’t take long before Damon had cowboy boot marks on his face and body.  The cowboy picked up his hat, dusted it off and went about his business.

The value of the hat wasn’t the issue. He simply stood for what was his.  Damon had no right to take it. As a Christian I know I have had to make a stand now and then.  It has nothing to do with hate, but has everything to do with standing for my Lord and what I believe

Personally, I dislike having to make a stand.  I hate saying, “No.” I despise loosing friends because I stood for what is right. As time goes on, it will get more and more difficult for Christians (just watch the news for verification).

In this passage, Shammah stood his ground over a patch of lentils.  As far as lentils go, it would have been no great loss (in my opinion). It was his ground and he wasn’t going to give an inch just because the Philistines wanted it.

The question is, “Will Christians stand or cower?”

“And after him was Shammah the son of Agee the Hararite. And the Philistines were gathered together into a troop, where was a piece of ground full of lentiles: and the people fled from the Philistines. But he stood in the midst of the ground, and defended it, and slew the Philistines: and the LORD wrought a great victory.” II Samuel 23:12.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

