Tags

, ,

great job

 In Bible college, I had to take Greek.  The professor even had the students diagram sentences.  I didn’t like diagraming English, much less Greek.  The professor would return my assignment with red marks all over it.  At first glance it would look awful, but I learned he would usually write something encouraging along with the grade, like “Good Job!” The red ink wasn’t so intimidating after that. As I think back, I remember many of my teachers would write comments.  Getting an encouraging remark made a big difference in my attitude toward the teacher and toward my ability.

I realize just how easy it is to have a critical spirit.  It is so easy to find the faults in others rather than the good points.  However, it is also rewarding to be able to lift up another by commenting on their good points.  It’s fun to be a builder-upper.

I’m learning to be a builder-upper.  It takes some special effort, but I’m getting gooder at it.

 “Pleasant words are as an honeycomb, sweet to the soul, and health to the bones.” Proverbs 16:24.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

