Tags

, ,

Reality is Flawed

 I have come to the conclusion that reality is flawed.  I have some great ideas, but in reality they don’t work.  Since the idea is flawless, reality must be flawed.

My mother always separated the whites from the colored item when she did the laundry.  As I watched her as a kid, I concluded that that was a lot of wasted effort. Once I got on my own at vo-tech, I decided to throw everything in one load.  Hey, it saved money at the laundromat, too!

I ended up with pink t-shirts.  Who’d a thunk it?  Pink t-shirts, now that was a problem in the dormitory.  It’s like wearing a sign that said, “Pick on me!”  This is an example of a flawless idea, ruined by a flawed reality. The reality was that the dye wasn’t trustworthy.

Many times I have come up with good ideas in serving God, but they weren’t God’s will for my life. I like to think God should do things according to my ideas.  He chooses to do them His own way.  God is reality. Turns out reality isn’t flawed after all, my ideas were.

“Every way of a man is right in his own eyes: but the LORD pondereth the hearts.” Proverbs 21:2.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

