Tags

, ,

wept1

This is a favorite verse of kids learning scripture verses. But isn’t it just a bit puzzling? Since Jesus had the power to raise Lazarus from the dead and was planning on doing so, why did He weep? I have thought that if it was me, I might be smirking a bit.  I would be showing them a miracle in a few minutes. I think I might have difficulty containing my smugness, thinking, “I got this.”

Years ago I worked in a medical records department of a hospital.  I responded for a request for medical records by walking them up to the Emergency Room.  As I rounded the corner, I entered an area of wailing and crying.  The Emergency Room staff was crying, the security personnel were crying. By the time I had dropped the records off, I felt like crying – and I had no idea what had happened. It turns out a baby had died.

I imagine a similar circumstance when Jesus felt the grief of His friends.  His tender heart wretched with sorrow, too. Jesus is in tune with my feelings.  He rejoices when I rejoice and sorrows when I sorrow. He knows what I feel and feels it, too. What a savior!

“Jesus wept” John 11:35.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

