Tags

, , , ,

groaner

“My childhood artwork that my mother posted on the refrigerator would be work a mint today,” a friend said one day. I asked him whether it would be a penny-sized peppermint or a large peppermint patty.  I’m pretty sure there was a headshake of disbelief at my misinterpretation of the event.

I often wonder if God rolls His eyes at me when I get the wrong idea over something in the Bible.  I like to think I have a handle on things, then I read a passage that causes my mind to do belly flops into my pool of thoughts. The consequential splashing and waves created in my imagination doesn’t help any. I know I can be rather dim at times. I am so glad that God doesn’t give up on me when I misunderstand Him.  He will patiently teach me.

Perhaps this event included a face-slap or a headshake of disbelief, maybe even an eye-roll. Jesus groaned within Himself because the people with Him didn’t understand why He wept. He heard them say, “If he opened the eyes of the blind couldn’t He have healed Lazarus and not let him die?” They thought He was grieving over the death of Lazarus.  Instead, He was groaning inside over their misinterpretation of the unfolding events.

 “Then said the Jews, Behold how he loved him! And some of them said, Could not this man, which opened the eyes of the blind, have caused that even this man should not have died? Jesus therefore again groaning in himself cometh to the grave. It was a cave, and a stone lay upon it.” John 11:36-38.

© copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

