Tags

, , ,

Jesus Praying

 I helped my mother harvest produce from out garden when I was a kid.  I didn’t mind carrots, but I didn’t like other goods.  I remember a time when my Dad picked a ripe tomato in the hot sun and ate it like an apple.  Dad announced to everyone how wonderful it was to eat a warm ripe tomato right off the vine.  One day I tried one like that – nope, me no like. Kohlrabi and radishes were high on my list of dislikes, and still are.  Corn on the cob, on the other hand, is a treat. When it comes down to it, though, I would make a lousy vegetarian.

One day, I had kids of my own.  My wife would make delicious meals complete with vegetation.  I ate my vegetables without complaint (she knew not to serve certain things like kohlrabi) as an example to my kids.  I still eat vegetables when they are served, but I forget about them otherwise.  This is where hot dishes, pot pies and soup come into play.  The veggies are part of the servings.

Until I read this passage, I wondered why Jesus prayed.  After all, if Jesus is God manifested in the flesh, why would He need to pray?  It seemed silly to me. God placed this verse in the Bible to answer that question.  People needed His example to follow.

 Then they took away the stone from the place where the dead was laid. And Jesus lifted up his eyes, and said, Father, I thank thee that thou hast heard me. And I knew that thou hearest me always: but because of the people which stand by I said it, that they may believe that thou hast sent me.” John 11:41-42.

 © copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

