Tags

, ,

troll1

I’m not only dim, but I am slow, too.  I am learning though.  I think.  At least on a temporary basis.  I seem to forget what I have previously learned. That means that I am always learning.  Today I learned something, hopefully it will stick to something inside my skull.

I am learning that I don’t have to deal with trolls (the derogatory name given to people who like to start fights online).  I know that trolls are emboldened by the anonymity of the internet, but they can be problems in person, too.  But, I can withdraw from both kinds.

No matter how much I want to instruct them, those that simply want to stir up strife are not going to listen anyway.  They are not out to learn, but to argue. I am learning that wrestling with them is a colossal waste of time.  What a blessing to realize that I now have more time for Bible study, writing and other creative endeavors.

Now the trick is to recognize a troll early.  Just because someone has a different opinion doesn’t make he/she a troll. Name-calling is a good indication of an on-coming attack, which generally turn into snorting, snarling, halitosis laden words dripping with acidic saliva. Once I recognize an “invitation” I remind myself have no desire to engage into troll wresting.  According to scripture the proper thing to do is to “withdraw thyself.” Amen!

“He is proud, knowing nothing, but doting about questions and strifes of words, whereof cometh envy, strife, railings, evil surmisings, perverse disputings of men of corrupt minds, and destitute of the truth, supposing that gain is godliness: from such withdraw thyself.” I Timothy 6:4-5.

 © copyright Kevin T Boekhoff

 

