Tags

, , , , ,

Parents. They can drive a person crazy. Kids, they can drive parents nuts. It is amazing how much I learned from my parents without realizing it. Without them, I wouldn’t be able to talk. I would still be speaking jibberish. Although, I am inclined to believe that I was a master at jibberish.

What about the things they did wrong? I learned from those things, too. Then proceeded to make my own mistakes. Such as, Dad wouldn’t let me change the oil in my own car. I just had to watch him do it over and over and over. I learned that learning comes from doing. So I learned to supervise and let my kids do things. They might think I messed up, though.

Dad was away at work a lot – I learned as an adult that he had to do this. Mom’s law ruled during those hours. She felt she never had to explain a ruling. When I challenged it by asking “why?” She would reply, “Because I said so.” No amount of whining and fussing would change anything. I had hit a wall. I simply had to obey. Period.

At first, I believed everything my folks said, then some of what they said. Then I disagreed with most things they said. Now, after many years of adulthood, I realized I wasn’t so smart after all.

Even though they were learning as they went, even though they messed up at times, God says I should listen to the instruction of my father.

I know now that I don’t know anything, unless it comes from God’s Word. Not anything that matters anyway. My prayer for today is that I go to my Heavenly Father for advice, because I do have a tendency to trust in my own instruction.

My son, hear the instruction of thy father, and forsake not the law of thy mother: For they shall be an ornament of grace unto thy head, and chains about thy neck. – Proverbs 1:8-9.

