Tags

, , , , , ,

Finger pointing is so easy because “it sure ain’t my fault”. It has to be the car’s fault or the manager’s fault or the boss’s fault. It’s gotta be the President’s fault.

I saw a post on Facebook where someone was fussing that the latest shooting was Trump’s fault. I saw another that a white supremacist’s actions of hate were the Presiden’s fault. This person ranted that all this hate spewed by Trump was at fault. I thought for a moment and concluded that it was merely finger-pointing. I thought, hmmm, it seems to me that Kennedy was hated, Lincoln was hated, Reagan was hated – every President has been hated by someone. Every President received blame for things whether or not they were behind something.

As I thought on this, I realized that hate is not President Trump’s fault or Obama’s fault or anyone else’s, unless we accept the blame and say we are all at fault.

I suppose we could point the finger at Adam and Eve. But then since no one is better than they were, we are all capable of doing the same thing. In fact, since our personal sin and hate (we all have prejudice and hate) put Jesus on the cross, we are all culpable, too.

God knew what man could and would do in advance. Through the ugliness of hate God showed His love toward all of mankind. He provided the way of forgiveness and salvation – amazing!

And Cain talked with Abel his brother: and it came to pass, when they were in the field, that Cain rose up against Abel his brother, and slew him. And the LORD said unto Cain, Where is Abel thy brother? And he said, I know not: Am I my brother’s keeper? Genesis 4:8-9

