Tags

, , , ,

Forgetting the Forgotten

I know that a Christian should never feel lonely, but sometimes I do. I know God should be all that we need, but still I like human company. It isn’t so much nowadays, but when I was younger…

Christians can fail one another by not reaching out to those that are lonely. Some people get forgotten. Christians forget others.

When my Dad’s health failed and he couldn’t go to church much, no one visited him. When Hospice came, no one came to see him. All their friends from church never came around. Once he was admitted into the VA Hospice inpatient program. Some did stop in – but he didn’t remember them.

It is so easy to forget others and for others to forget me.

Then the devil steps in and has ungodly people visit. These people can tear down a Christian’s faith. They can sour one’s attitude toward church and his or her pastor.

In Idaho, I used to visit a man with poor health. He loved having someone visit. He enjoyed talking about the Lord, too. Then a man from a county companion program came along. That guy had him go fishing on Sunday and drink beer. This guy’s attitude toward me turned sour.

When loneliness tries to get a foothold my life, I need to be sure I don’t go the wrong way – no matter how harmless it looks on the surface. I need to turn to God, call or visit someone else that is lonely and go to church for the fellowship and words of encouragement from God’s Word.

Pure religion and undefiled before God and the Father is this, To visit the fatherless and widows in their affliction, and to keep himself unspotted from the world – James 1:27.

 

