Tags

, , , , ,

Jerkier Jerks

I remember a guy giving me a hard time about being a Christian. He told me to Google his name and I would be surprised (actually his statement was filled with profanity, I cleaned it up to make it palatable). His attitude was that since he had some fame and notoriety in is profession, that he could be a jerk if he wanted to be one. He went on quite a rant and railed on me. I have since learned to walk away from jerks – well I hope I have. But then there are always jerkier jerks.

In this passage the angels set the example. Even though they have the power and might to fuss about leadership, they don’t.

My how easy it is to get critical. How quickly I find myself diving into a conversation criticizing a leader or even another person. This eventually brings me down. I find myself grumpy and miserable because I look at everybody and everything with a bad attitude.

I enjoy meeting people and having pleasant and even fun conversations. For example, I was talking with a guy about the old days. We both had a good laugh over the fact that the kids today wouldn’t understand the song, “Sylvia’s Mother” when the lyrics say, “…and the operator said 40 cents more for the next three minutes…” That’s much more fun than grumping.

Talking about Jesus is also rewarding and fun. No matter where I go, there are jerks – my goal is not to be one of them.

 

Whereas angels, which are greater in power and might, bring not railing accusation against them before the Lord. 2 Peter 2:11 

