Tags

, , , , ,

We bought a house that needs a bit of work. One of the things was the absence of a few lights. I am working on installing a couple of them. I discovered that a house with stucco “siding” is made differently – and a previous owner did some unsettling wiring. This means more work to fix it right.

Since a previous owner strung a wire along the upper exterior wall and slathered stucco stuff to hide it, I had to break out the stucco in order to replace the wire. A hammer and chisel proved a bit laborious to me. Thusly, I got out my compressor and hand-held air chisel. Wow! What a difference!

I made great progress, producing debris at an unheard of pace – until I hit another wire that went vertically. Not knowing it was there I chiseled it. Suddenly, the compressor quit. As a matter of fact, all the power went out in the hosue. No amount of breaker flicking seemed to help. So, I swallowed my pride and called a friend that does electrical work.

My friend came over, tools in hand, complete with a no-nonsense demeanor. He had the battle plan all worked out. But first he checked the breakers. He flicked the right one and everything worked again. Sigh. Did I feel stupid! I mean, I flicked that very breaker earlier. I guess it feared a bona-fide electrician.

All’s well now except I reaped stupid stuff because I stupidly chiseled a wire. The stupid stuff compounded with the breaker issue. I guess I reaped stupid stuff because I did stupid stuff. Funny how that works. Now I will never be able to prove to the electrician, or my wife, just how handy I am to have around.

For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting. Galatians 6:8. 

